University of Strasbourg

The University of Strasbourg was founded in 1621. Louis Pasteur, Marc Bloch, John Calvin and four Nobel Prize winners have studied or taught there. It is a large public institution with 40,000 students. The university comprises three distinct units that specialize in three different fields:
• natural sciences: Strasbourg 1 (former Louis Pasteur University (ULP))
• humanities: Strasbourg 2 (former Mark Bloh University), which housed "Institut International d'Etudes Francaises";
• arts: Strasbourg 3 (formerly Robert Schuman University), which housed "Institut d'Etudes Politiques";
In Strasbourg 1 are studying 18.500 of Strasbourg University’s students. The achievements in the field of natural sciences place it among the top-ranking French and European universities. This unique feature is reinforced by a strong and well-established collaboration with the CNRS and INSERM, and now with the INRA, and the interdisciplinary nature of its research.
The University of Strasbourg is a key player in the economic and social development of the city of Strasbourg, the department of the Bas-Rhin and the region of Alsace. It also aims to play a leading role in public debate on developments and issues in science, another way of building up the links between the university and the community.